What’s on at NRM York

Signalling demo

Find out how signals work with our team of award-winning volunteers.

Occasional Saturdays
See right for dates.
11.00–12.30 and 13.30–15.30
Suitable for all ages
Talks and tours
The Warehouse

For over 100 years, the Signalling School Model Railway has been used to put would-be railway signallers through their paces. It uses authentic period signalling instruments to show how trains negotiate around the rail network safely. It is the only one of its kind, and it's still used by Network Rail.

Demonstration dates

The Lancashire & Yorkshire School of Signalling layout will be in operation on the dates listed below between 11.00 and 12.30 and between 14.30 and 15.30, with an Accident Reconstruction taking place at 13.30 and an interactive display of Single Line Token Instruments at 14.15.

Additionally, there will usually be other signalling demonstrations taking place upstairs on the balcony from 11.00 to 12.30 and again at 13.30 to 15.30.


  • Saturday 17 March – at 13.30, we will recreate an accident that happened in November 1892 at Manor House, Thirsk, when an express train collided with a goods train, resulting in nine passengers of the express train and the guard of the goods train being killed and 41 people being injured.
  • Saturday 14 April
  • Saturday 19 May
  • Saturday 16 June
  • Saturday 7 July
  • Saturday 4 August
  • Saturday 15 September
  • Saturday 6 October
  • Saturday 3 November
  • Saturday 1 December
  • Saturday 29 December

For enquiries contact Phil Graham 01423 868491 or 07736 507103.

See also

Background: 'Skegness is so Bracing' LNER Poster